India vs South Africa 1st Test Live Score, Stream & Updates | IND vs SA | Dec 18-22 2013

India vs South Africa 1st Test Live Score, Stream & Updates | IND vs SA | Dec 18-22 2013

1st Test – India vs South Africa Live Match Score & Updates | IND vs SA Live on 18th December to 22nd December, 2013

Match Overview & Live Updates


Ms Dhoni & Gream Simth With The Series Trophy. 2 Test Match Series starts today

1st Test – India vs South Africa Live | IND vs SA 1st test live
Venue: The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
Date: Wed Dec 18 – Sun Dec 22
Time: 10:30 local | 08:30 GMT | 14:00 IST

Live Score & Ball by ball updates of the match

Toss: India, who chose to bat first

Umpires: SJ Davis and RJ Tucker

TV umpire: S George

Match referee: ; AJ Pycroft

Reserve Umpire: AT Holdstock

Match Updates

Day 1 & Toss Update

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in the first Test at the Wanderers here Wednesday.

India have gone in with three pacers Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami, and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin. Zaheer will be playing his first international match in 12 months.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wicketkeeper), Faf du Plessis, Jean Paul Duminy, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

India: Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Mahendra Singh Dhoni(captain/wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami.

1st Test Preview

For India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni the concern on the eve of the first cricket Test against South Africa here at the Wanderers was his bowlers and not his misfiring batsmen.

On the other hand, South African captain Graeme Smith also warned that India’s inexperienced batsmen will face a tough challenge from South Africa’s fast bowlers in the two-match series which starts at the Wanderers Stadium on Wednesday. Following the retirement of Sachin Tendulkar, India’s likely top six have a total of 59 Test caps between them. Only Cheteshwar Pujara (two) and Murali Vijay (one) have played Test cricket in South Africa.

Asked whether his bowlers would seek to intimidate the Indians, Smith said his team would adopt the same approach that had taken them to number one in the Test rankings. Smith said he expected the new ball to be a factor at the Wanderers.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, whose 79 caps are 20 more than the specialist batsmen combined, deflected pressure from India’s batsmen and said the bowling would be important. Dhoni said he had confidence in his young players despite India having only batted twice in a three-match one-day series and having their planned two-day warm-up game washed out. Dhoni said he did not believe the lack of experience among the batsmen would be a negative for India.

Smith announced South Africa’s eleven for the Test, with Hashim Amla returning in place of Dean Elgar from the side that beat Pakistan by an innings in Dubai in October. Amla missed that match because he had flown home for the birth of his second child.

Dhoni said India would only finalise their team on Wednesday but indicated that veteran left-arm bowler Zaheer Khan would play his first international match in more than a year.

Form guide

(last five completed games, most recent first)

South Africa WLWWW

Stats and trivia

– The last time South Africa lost a Test at home was in December 2011, against Sri Lanka. They have won all six Tests since.

– There has not been a drawn Test in Johannesburg since December 2000, when the New Zealand – South Africa Test was ruined by rain. The last 12 matches at the Wanderers have had results.

– Vernon Philander is five wickets away from 100 Test wickets. If he gets there at the Wanderers, he will be the joint sixth fastest bowler to do so. For India, Zaheer Khan is five away from 300 wickets.

– MS Dhoni is the only member of the India’s top seven to have played more than 20 Tests. The Johannesburg Test will be his 50th as captain.

Pitch and conditions

The Wanderers groundsman has promised a typical Johannesburg surface, which will facilitate bounce and carry but also have plenty of runs. Graeme Smith was happy with what he saw the day before the Test. “There’s moisture in this wicket and cracks are looking good,” he said. The persistent rain that fell over the Highveld throughout last week has mostly dried up but thundershowers are expected every day of the game. Thursday looks like it could be the wettest.

Team News

South Africa announced their XI on the eve of the match and there were no surprises. They picked three specialist quicks and Imran Tahir as the spinner ahead of Robin Peterson. Hashim Amla returned after missing the Dubai Test on paternity leave in place of Dean Elgar, while AB de Villiers will keep wicket and bat at No.5.

South Africa Squad: 1 Graeme Smith (capt) 2 Alviro Petersen, 3 Hashim Amla 4 Jacques Kallis, 5 AB de Villiers (wk), 6 Faf du Plessis, 7 JP Duminy 8 Vernon Philander, 9 Dale Steyn, 10 Morne Morkel, 11 Imran Tahir

This is India’s first Test since Tendulkar retired and their line-up has a vastly inexperienced look. Kohli is likely to move up the order to No. 4, making space for Ajinkya Rahane at No. 6. They will probably opt for three quicks too, with Ishant Sharma preferred over Bhuvneshwar Kumar because of his pace.

The 1st Test between India vs South Africa is being played at The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg starting from Wednesday Dec 18 – Sunday Dec 22 at 10:30 local inJohannesburg, 08:30 GMT and 14:00 IST in India.

You can catch ball by ball coverage with commentary and live scores along with batting, bowling and fielding statistics for the 1st Test match of IND vs SA here on – You can also read India vs South Africa match updates and match report after the match is over.

Series Updates

India tour of South Africa consists of 3 ODIs and 2 Tests. South Africa has already won the ODI series 2-0 and the first Test between the two teams starts today.

India vs South Africa Squads

India Team: (From) Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wkt), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Ambati Rayudu, Wriddhiman Saha (wkt), Ishant Sharma, Pragyan Ojha.

South Africa: (From) Graeme Smith (c), AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile

Live Score & Ball by ball updates of the match

India vs South Africa 2013 Series Home

India vs South Africa 2013 Schedule & Fixtures

India vs South Africa Live Tweet Stream of 1st Test